delta air lines

WE KEPT IN TOUCH OVER THE YEARS AFTER WE BOTH STARTED IN HOBBY AIRPORT-HOUSTON, TEXAS.  THE 2ND WINTER I RETIRED I TOOK ON A JOB OF DELIVERING CARS ALL OVER.
MY LAST TRIP DOING IT WAS IN THE LATE WINTER AND I WAS TAKING A CAR FROM MEMPHIS TO ATLANTA.  I PULLED IN AT DAVES PLACE LATE AT NIGHT WITH MY DELIVERY TIME OF THE NEXT MORNING AT THE ATLANTA OFFICE.  WE STAYED UP ABOUT ALL NIGHT TALKING OVER OLD TIMES  WITH DELTA.
AS I LEFT THE NEXT MORNING HE SAID VAN I AM ALONE NOW AFTER LOOSING MY WIFE AND I WOULD LIKE TO DO THAT.  I SAID WHEN I TURN CAR IN AT ATLANTA OFFICE I WILL PUT IN A GOOD WORD FOR YOU.
I FLEW BACK TO DALLAS AND WHEN I GOT HOME I CALLED HIM BACK.  HE SAID HE GOT HIRED AND WAS MAKING HIS FIRST TRIP THE VERY NEXT DAY.  I THINK IT WAS PENN. TO FLORIDA.  SPRING CAME AND I GOT BACK TO MOWING WORK AND DAVE KEPT GOING ALL OVER.  HE REALLY ENJOYED IT SINCE HE WAS ALONE AGAIN.  WITH THE LOSS OF 2 WIVES TO CANCER THIS JOB PUT A SPARK BACK INTO HIS LIFE.
HE HAD 10 YEARS SENORITY TO ME AND I REALLY ENJOYED BEING AROUND HIM.  FULL OF JOKES AND LAUGHS.
REST IN PEACE OLD BUDDY
VAN
Norman Vanlaningham
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

